top of page
Search

Hey everyone!

Ok so I don’t really have a whole lot to tell you all about, though a lot has happened in the last year since we moved here and I became rather inactive on LJ.

Our apartment is halfway decent and we pay about the least amount for rent in the area. The Lake Norman State Park is close, and is BEAUTIFUL! I’m definitely going camping there sometime!

Dave started work and school within a month of moving here, which meant he wasn’t home from 7:30 am to 8:00 pm Monday through Friday. He already had 6 years of mechanic experience through the military, and he’s in school and is getting new ASE certifications as often as he can, but his job only pays him $8 an hour and he works about 30 hours a week. Needless to say, the money we saved up during his deployments withered and died by the end of 2006.

I had been “inactively” looking for a job. Meaning, I was looking, putting in the occasional application, but not really giving it the effort it needed. Finally, around the first of this year, I signed up with a temp agency. They had one assignment for me, at a hospital cafeteria. I was supposed to work three days, but after the first I couldn’t move much and was “bedridden” for a few days. After a good month of calling them frequently trying to get a clerical position, I gave up. I went to another temp agency, and, oddly enough, started working that week and have been with that job ever since! It’s really great, everyone is so nice and the work isn’t too difficult.

Here’s the “funny” part. Dave gets paid $8 for slightly dangerous mechanical work. I’m getting paid $12 to do data entry, where I can wear almost anything I want and listen to whatever I want on the iPod. Seems to me he’s in need of either a raise or a better job altogether!

I was worried I wouldn’t be able to handle working, given my past experiences. However, I seem to be doing great and handling things well.

Unfortunately, with me not starting work until February this year, we ran up a lot of credit card debt paying bills. Not good. On a plus side there, though, everything (including the minimal interest we incur on the one card) will be paid off in full within the next 3 to 6 months, tops, and by the end of the year we *should* have at least $5,000 in savings. Relief!

Guess that’s about it for now…

I’ve missed you guys and am glad I decided to stay! I might even keep the account as a paid account, we’ll see.

Amber

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bat!

header.all-comments

ratings-display.rating-aria-label
header.no-ratings-yet

comment-box.add-a-rating
bottom of page